Review: The Iron Queen by Kaitlin Bevis

tiTitle: The Iron Queen (Daughters of Zeus #3)

Author: Kaitlin Bevis

Publisher: Musa Publishing

Source: Purchased

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters

3 stars

Life is hell for Persephone. Zeus will stop at nothing to gain access to the living realm and the Underworld, and as the only living god with a right to both, Persephone’s in trouble. Captured and tortured beyond the limits of her resolve, Persephone must find the power to stand against Zeus. But will she be strong enough?

Meanwhile, Hades contemplates desperate measures to rescue his queen. Persephone never thought of herself as dangerous, but there’s a reason gods never marry for love. A being with the power to destroy all of creation shouldn’t place more value in one individual than the rest of the planet. But Hades…Hades would break the world for her.

To save the world and stop both Hades and Zeus, Persephone must make a difficult choice. One that may cost her everything. (Source: Goodreads)

Persephone’s been captured by Zeus, who plans to use her to get controlled over all of the realms. Hades, Demeter, Aphrodite, and the remaining gods must work together to try and save Persephone from Zeus. Or, would is be better to let her save herself? The group grapples with this problem, unable to reach Persephone, and with time running out, what is there for them to do except hope for Persephone to come into her powers and save them all before Hades does something that they’ll all regret.

I liked this book, and am certainly a little sad to see the end of Persephone’s journey. I think I was somewhat underwhelmed with this book, it wasn’t what I was expecting and there were aspects of it that really made me lose interest in the book and confused me. This book uses alternating perspectives instead of the standard, established single perspective of Persephone. The action had a good pace, and this book was basically entirely action. I think things, as always, got a little ahead of themselves and there was a bit too much going on for me to enjoy this book the way I did the others.

I really enjoyed the plot. We finally see the conclusion of this action surrounding Zeus. This whole plot was exhilarating with lots of interesting twists. I think some of it was fairly predictable, and I would have liked to have seen some of the other possible avenues that Bevis brings up, but I do think it was a really exciting plot. Because of the alternating perspectives there are more lines of plot happening than in the previous books. We see Aphrodite and Melissa’s searches for other demigods, Hades trying to find Persephone, and Persephone trying to fight off Zeus. I had some issues with these added perspectives, they certainly threw me at first, but I did appreciate the new dimension they added to the story. I liked most of the plot lines, particularly the stuff with Poseidon and his son. I think Bevis handled all the different lines of action well. Of course, there was some level of fuddling as in the other books, but it was definitely less severe and less noticeable.

Character development/relationship development-wise, this book was hugely disappointing. Nothing really developed in this book beyond the established relationships in the previous books. Aphrodite is on some level cleared on her guilt in tricking Persephone and there is a new relationship developed with Melissa and Aphrodite in this book, but it doesn’t really add much of anything. I don’t think much of anything new was introduced in Persephone and Hades’ relationship, except for some really bad attempts to create a love triangle with Triton. This was pretty disappointing considering the relationship between Persephone and Hades was what drew me to this story initially. I think there was too much focus on all of these new characters for the ending of those established characters to feel satisfactory.

A big part of my issue with the multiple perspectives was that they came out of nowhere. This didn’t fit into the established format of the books, and really jarred me when I started reading it. I also found the voices weren’t distinct enough. They weren’t exactly the same, but you could definitely feel Bavis shining through them all instead of any of them really feeling distinct. This made the book feel, overall, kind of disappointing to me.

I liked this book, but found it disappointing compared to the previous books in the series. It was good, but not the ending I had hoped for in this series. The book leaves some loose ends for possible future books, but I don’t know if I’d be all that interested in reading more books in this universe anymore.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read The Iron QueenLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Kaitlin Bevis at her website, Twitter, and Goodreads.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

