Review: Daughter of the Earth and Sky by Kaitlin Bevis

doteasTitle: Daughter of the Earth and Sky (Daughters of Zeus #2)

Author: Kaitlin Bevis

Publisher: Musa Publishing

Source: Purchased

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters

4 stars

Some vows can never be broken.
Persephone thought she could go back to her normal life after returning from the Underworld. She was wrong.
The goddess Aphrodite is born among the waves with more charm than she can control. Zeus is stalking Persephone and her loved ones, and Thanatos is no longer content with Persephone’s silence.
He wants her soul.
Persephone can’t tell anyone about Thanatos’ betrayal, and it drives a wedge between her and Hades. Her mother is still keeping secrets, and Melissa’s jealousy of Aphrodite threatens to tear their friendship apart.
Alone, Persephone turns to a human boy for comfort. But will their relationship put him in danger? Sacrifices must be made, and Persephone must choose between her human life and her responsibilities as a goddess. If she doesn’t, she could lose them both. But will either life be worth choosing once Zeus is through with her? (Source: Goodreads)

Even though Persephone has defeated Boreas, she’s not safe. There’s betrayal in the Underworld, betrayal she’s vowed not to reveal, and Thanatos is certainly taking advantage of the promise. While trying to fight off Thanatos and his Reapers, Persephone must also cope with a new sister, Aphrodite, growing tension with her mother and best friend, the advances of an old friend, and her complicated marriage to Hades. Will Zeus and Thanatos be able to take advantage of all of these distractions, or will Persephone be able to fight back and save herself from her father’s whims?

This is a fantastic follow-up to Persephone which I absolutely loved. I go on and on all the time about how much I love Greek/Roman mythology. It’s really, really true. If I had thought about it I probably would have studied this at university, that’s how much I love it. I will basically read any adaptation of the Greek myths just out of interest (I have been tempted on many occasions to try out Goddess Girlsand oh no even going to the Goodreads page has tempted me again, she also wrote Heroes in Training which also tempts me constantly. THIS IS GOING TO BE A PROBLEM!). Anyway, I have favourites, and this series is kind of up there. I love the modern twist on the myths, the way they’re on going with Aphrodite only introduced now in the 2010s and not in the past, it really adds to the action and fits Persephone herself into this huge history. Bevis has definitely hooked me into her series and I absolutely adore it.

There’s lots of great stuff happening in the plot this time. I think the idea of Gods not being able to lie was really interesting, because it’s a really dangerous thing to write into a book. Bevis has to make Persephone never lie to anyone in the book, and this could go bad quickly because it would be easy to trip up on this, I think Bevis is very successful though. I think that the plot lines all kind of focus in on isolating Persephone so that Zeus can take advantage of her, which creates a really interesting dynamic with the other characters. I really liked the plot overall but once again found that Bevis got kind of, ahead of herself. The details get a little fuddled sometimes and some things go unexplained. This stuff is easy to figure out but the problem is that you shouldn’t have to figure it out, it should be there already. That’s really my only issue with the book though, as it was with the first book.

Bevis really creates some interesting relationships in this book. Previously the focus had been Hades and Persephone’s relationship but now there’s a lot more going on and their relationship takes the backseat. The mother-daughter relationship becomes a huge focus of the book, with Persephone becoming increasingly wary of her mother’s intentions. I think this really tied in well to the age range this book is intended for, as teenagers often start to see a change in their relationship with their parents as they head into adulthood. The relationship between Melissa and Persephone also changes as Melissa becomes increasingly jealous of Persephone. This part was so hugely important to be because it was really an issue of agency and free will that takes such a long time to parse out, and it was so well written. I would have liked to have see more Hades-Persephone but I think it was important to give these relationships room to develop and change in relation to Persephone’s new powers and position.

I think the issue has been and remains to be that this are kind of rushed. This means that things go somewhat unexplained and readers are just supposed to understand something that Bevis has never said. There’s a lot unsaid in the book that isn’t easy to pull out from it. The action also gets a little ahead of itself, which means that things get a little twisted and confusing sometimes. This is something I was really hoping would improve from book 1 to book 2 but it’s still there. That’s kind of what keeps me from rating this higher because…I love this book but there’s this tiny annoying bit of confusion sometimes that nags at me. It’s not a huge deal, you can general figure things out though.

As a side note, this is one of those books that has awful covers but a wonderful story. Please don’t let the cover dissuade you, the book is great!

Overall I really love this series. This book is on par with the previous one, with an increase in action and great relationship development. I highly recommend this series.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Daughter of the Earth and SkyLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Kaitlin Bevis at her website, Twitter, and Goodreads.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

