ARC Review: Teen Titans Go! Volume 1: Party, Party! by Sholly Fisch and Lea Hernandez

ttg

Title: Teen Titans Go! Volume 1: Party, Party!

Author: Sholly Fisch and Lea Hernandez

Publisher: DC Comics

Source: DC Comics on Edelweiss (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

4 stars

Based on the hit TV show, feast your eyes on this all-new, all-ages comic book series! Join Robin, Starfire, Beast Boy, Cyborg and Raven as they display their unique brand of hijinks, mayhem and justice! But giant pizza monsters aren’t the only dastardly and delicious villains on the menu… so dig in, Titans!

Collects TEEN TITANS GO! #1-6. (Source: Goodreads)

This comic book collects a series of mini-comics about the Teen Titans. It follows the format of the show Teen Titans Go! which features short episodes of Teen Titan content. These comics focus less on the fighting of the original Teen Titans show and more on the comic interactions between the members.

I liked this book, I thought it was funny and really cute. I’ve never actually watched Teen Titans Go! but I was a huge fan of the previous Teen Titans show, which I watched every episode of. The comics are short, which could have turned out disappointing, but were actually really the perfect length for what they were. They were mostly funny, with a few I didn’t find particularly funny. They use a lot of really fantastic references to other comic books and include great cameos from a few major DC characters. I liked the art, which is in the style of Teen Titans Go!, which I think is meant to be chibi style.

I’ll do a quick run-through of the comics that are featured in the book.

“Food Fright” features a possessed pizza which attacks the Titans. This was a great starter to the book as it had action and comedy. It was also a great introduction to the Titans and got their voices, as I remembered them, perfect. The art on the cheese monster was fantastic. “Par for the Course” features a bet between Robin and Beast Boy as they play mini golf. This had a lot of references to other DC Comics which were really fun. Adorable art. This one also features Pretty Pretty Pegasus which is a hilarious reference to My Little Pony.

“Idol Hands” is about Starfire entering in an American Idol style contest.  I thought this one was really funny. It also featured references to some older comic books. The plot was good, though kind of veered off strangely. “Cold Blooded” was about Robin getting a cold. This one was funny, but also kind of gross. The art is good, but definitely kind of disgusting – because Robin has a really bad cold so…snot and stuff.

“Party Party”, where the Titans throw a party themed party, was adorable. I really loved the interactions between the Titans and the villains. The art for the party was really fun, especially when the villains and Titans were all dancing together. “Silicon Valley Cyborg” is about Cyborg becoming the CEO of an internet start-up. This one was probably less funny that the previous ones. It was not one of my favourites. There is, however, a great appearance for Superman in this one where they drive past him with a blimp. I loved that.

“Robin the First” is about Robin trying to be first at everything. I found this one kind of boring. Robin is probably my least favourite Titan so I think this only really served to highlight things I don’t like about him. “Teen Titans…Go Fish”, where the Titans play Go Fish, was boring until the very end. It’s essentially just them sitting around a table playing cards. Eventually some villains show up, which was pretty funny.

“Prank’d!” is about the Titans prank calling all kind of people from around the DC universe. I loved this one, it was really adorable. I especially liked the focus on how bad it is to prank call Batman. Because Batman is a super tough guy and everything. This was just adorable. “Don’t Look”, where Raven receives a package she doesn’t want anyone to see, was adorable too. Probably not my favourite but still really funny and had a great reference to Pretty Pretty Pegasus again.

“But Games Can Never Hurt Me” is about Cyborg and Beast Boy putting a game into the Tower’s system. I thought this one was great. It had some fantastic art and wonderful references to popular games. A great way to tie all the characters together towards the end of the book. Finally, “Sleep Over” is about the girls throwing a sleep over and kicking the boys out. This one the absolute best comic in the whole book and was a great end. I found this the most fun to read. Having Jinx there was probably the highlight of this one.

Overall, I think this was really funny. Definitely great for fans of either Teen Titans show. Adorable art, adorable stories. Adorable everything. Highly recommend.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Teen Titans Go Volume 1: Party, Party!Let me know your thoughts in the comments!
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

