Review: Sex Criminals Vol. 1: One Weird Trick by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky

scTitle: Sex Criminals Vol. 1: One Weird Trick

Author: Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky

Publisher: Image Comics

Source: Borrowed from brother

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

4 stars

Suzie’s just a regular gal with an irregular gift: when she has sex, she stops time. One day she meets Jon and it turns out he has the same ability. And sooner or later they get around to using their gifts to do what we’d ALL do: rob a couple banks. A bawdy and brazen sex comedy for comics begins here! (Source: Goodreads)

Suzie has a strange gift: when she has sex time stops. She doesn’t understand how it happens, it just does. She lives in this moments of frozen time, using them to her advantage. And then she meets Jon and it turns out she wasn’t alone all along. After a while the couple begins to rob banks, trying to save Suzie’s library from being closed by the banks. The only problem is, it’s starting to feel like one else is watching.

I honestly had no idea what to expect from this comic. My brother told it was good when he loaned it to me, but that’s really not a lot to go on. Honestly though, this series is so unique and original and super interesting. I don’t think I’ve read anything like this before. It’s really well written with a interesting plot line and some really gorgeous art. It’s got a really great, sort of, sexy sci-fi feel to it which I really enjoyed.

I think the plotline is pretty original. I’ve personally never read anything like it before. I think that it’s well told, with intercut past and present lines running. The story is told from both Suzie and Jon’s perspectives, they hand it off, but really comes from the same place. It cuts between narration of their childhoods, to narration of their meeting and relationship, to what happens when they rob the big bank. This was really effective in creating a sort of suspense throughout. It also paired well with the highly original idea. I would say that Suzie and Jon’s voices aren’t fully distinct from each other, which isn’t great, but makes some level of sense considering they are pretty similar and have similar views.

I liked the characters. I think they did a good job of creating characters who have taken full advantage of their sexual powers. As I’ve said it is a little difficult to distinguish their voices in the storytelling, but throughout the story they have clear identities. They’re hugely complex characters with distinct, unique traits. Jon has some issues, which lead him to having violent outbursts towards his boss. I found him a little more interesting than Suzie, mostly because he kind of freaked me out a bit. He comes up with the bank robbing scheme and seems a lot more into it that Suzie, risking her safety along the way. That kind of freaked me out about him, but it definitely made for good character development.

The art is this is really great. I loved the style used when they’re in “The Quiet”. The effect that they use is pretty great. The brightness of the sex police uniforms is also really cool looking because they’re so jarring. All the cover art is exceptional. The style of the people is really natural looking except maybe the sex police woman who is kind of weird looking, but it fits the story well.

Overall I really enjoyed this first volume of the series. I’ll definitely check out the next one when its released and I recommend you check this series out as well.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Sex Criminals Vol. 1: One Weird TrickLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Matt Fraction at his website and Twitter.
Check out Chip Zdarsky at his website.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

