Review: Yes Please by Amy Poehler

ypTitle: Yes Please

Author: Amy Poehler

Publisher: Harper Avenue

Source: Purchased

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

5 stars copy

In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious. Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book is full of words to live by. (Source: Goodreads)

In this book Amy Poehler talks about her life, her children, her job, her family, her history, Hollywood, and the world. This book takes on all these topics with wisdom and humour in a manner that only Poehler could accomplish. Her unique voice is present throughout and thoroughly interesting and enjoyable. Her anecdotes range from her childhood to improv to SNL to Parks and Recreation to her separation from Will Arnett, she never tells anything too intimate but she always has an honest voice.

I loved this book. A lot of time I struggle for a bit with these types of memoir books because they usually have some heavier stuff that requires a little more time to work through. Sometimes things get a bit boring or rough, for example I found Nick Offerman’s Paddle Your Own Canoe really interesting and well written but had some moments of boredom where I had to put the book down. I never ever wanted to put Yes Please down, sometimes I had to because I was busy or working but I never wanted to put it down. This book was sweet and inspiring and made me laugh and sometimes tugged at my heart or made me want to thank my mom. It’s a book I want to share with my mom too. It’s a book I want to share with women, and men, but mostly women, because Amy Poehler is the kind of woman you should seek out. She’s someone I admire who always reminds me it’s ok to be me and to say “no” and to not apologize for being a woman. This book was a reminder of all of these things.

This book is structured into three parts broken down into chapters. There are some great stories throughout the book. The content isn’t chronological it bounces around from place to place, but does so naturally. It feels right to flow forward and backward through Poehler’s life, time travelling along with her as she tells stories about her childhood beside stories of work and marriage. There are some great stories in the book, paired with some great photos, art, poems, and e-mails. I liked the mixed media and Poehler’s storytelling. Overall the experience of reading the book was fun and easy. The flow of the book was excellent and kept me engaged and involved in the content.

I was glad to see Poehler address her own privilege as a white woman in America with a certain level of wealth. I was glad that she often reminded the reader of this when talking about things. This was great. I really found her voice great because she was aware of her privilege but also because of how she talks about women. The way Poehler talks about women is just amazing. This is why I love her. She talks about women like they have no limits, which is y’know as it should be, but also acknowledges the limits and roadblocks that have and will prevent women or try to prevent women from accomplishing everything they should. I was also glad to see time dedicated to the way she is treated as a woman despite her standing as an acknowledged and award winning actor and comedian, this was both in terms of sexual harassment and other just general misogynistic views in the media. Poehler takes on a lot of really important stuff in this book.

I was also glad that she didn’t get too intimate. I didn’t need to know the details of her divorce. I’m glad that I don’t know them even after reading the book. I love Amy Poehler, but I don’t know her, and I don’t need any reason to believe I do know her. What she shared wa enough. It gave me something to relate to, to better understand where she comes from, and it gave me more to respect in her for the way she carries herself, works, and represents women in the media. I am glad she didn’t detail her personal life or feel pressure to. And if she felt pressure to I’m glad she didn’t crack under that pressure.

I loved this book and highly recommend it. I could probably go on about this forever, but I think that what I’ve said so far is enough to give you an idea of exactly how I feel about this one. I love love love it. Read it, yes please.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Yes PleaseLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

One thought on “Review: Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Leave me a comment!

