Review: Magneto Vol. 1: Infamous by Cullen Bunn, Gabriel Hernandez Walta, and Javi Fernandez

magnetoTitle: Magneto Vol. 1: Infamous

Author: Cullen Bunn, Gabriel Hernandez Walta, and Javi Fernandez

Publisher: Marvel Comics

Source: Purchased

Check out this book on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

2 stars

Once the deadliest, most feared mutant mastermind on the planet, Magneto is no longer the man he was. After allying with Cyclops and the X-Men, he became a pawn in another man’s war. But now, determined to fight for mutant kind’s survival on his own terms, Magneto sets out to regain what he’s lost…and remind the world why it should tremble at the sound of his name. Magneto will safeguard the future of the mutant race by hunting down each and every threat that would see his kind extinguished — and bloody his hands that they may never be a threat again.

But as horrors from his past loom large and S.H.I.E.L.D. agents pursue him, will Magneto soon become the villain he once was? And how will a mysterious woman from his past affect his mission? (Source: Goodreads)

Magneto is out for blood in this comic as he attacks groups who have targeted mutants. He takes justice and vengeance into his own hands taking on several different groups in this comic to try and right some of the wrongs done against the mutant population. This comic also, briefly, explores Magneto’s backstory in 1940s Germany while living under the Nazis.

I am kind of…at a loss with this one. I didn’t really enjoy it. I liked the art, but found the use of light too sparse, and the character designs weren’t really for me. The story itself was just wholly lacking, in that it was basically 100-something pages of needless violence which uses Magneto’s experiences during the Holocaust as a cheap crutch to validate them. Didn’t really make an sense to me.

The story lines, one about some kind of human experimentation, the other about the Marauders, were kind of vague and poorly explained. I think while reading them I followed along, but looking back I have no idea what was going on. Nothing was explained, it was all just this rambling internal monologue from Magneto as he tried to justify his needless violence. Honestly, there isn’t much to say about the plot because it was so lacking and confusing. I think it’s great to walk the line with Magneto, he’s sort of an anti-hero but I just feel like using WWII experiences living under the Nazis is a bit of a crutch and not really…good. It’s not used well first of all, because it was also very vague and instead of Magneto coming across as doing something sensible considering his experiences (as in, y’know defending the mutants) he just seems like a monster. It’s hard to relate to that kind of random violence in a lead character. I didn’t really enjoy the voice. To me it seemed sort of rambling and random. It felt like Magneto at times, but largely it just seemed confusing. I feel like this just made the randomness of the violence even harder to deal with.

I’m a little conflicted about the art. As I’ve said I had some problems with the art, but there was some stuff I liked and even loved. I found the art a little confusing at times. There was too much going on, and I don’t think it was articulated well in the art sometimes. I also found that the art was too dark, like there were places with the details just completely disappeared because there wasn’t enough light used. I think there was some stuff that was really great as well though, with some great contrast between these dark pages and some others that were all red tones. That was really well done. The cover art, and variants, were all amazing. I honestly think the cover of this volume is the kind of cover that becomes iconic. It’s just amazing.

I don’t think  I would continue to read this series. I found it confusing and poorly explained and it just made me want to go reread some of the other comics that I’ve read recently which I enjoyed. I was just kind of disappointed in this one.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Magneto Vol. 1: InfamousLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Cullen Bunn at his Goodreads, Twitter, and website.
Check out Gabriel Hernandez Walta at his blog and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

