2015 New Years Read-olutions and Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge

logo nyro

So I saw this over at The Readingdesk Reviews and decided I’d also do it. Basically the idea is to pick the 10 books you really want to read in the new year. I have at least 100 books in storage here that I haven’t read so this is a great way to reflect on my book purchases and remind myself of some of the ones I really want to read.

riordan1. The Kane Chronicles series by Rick Riordan. I bought this boxset earlier this year and have been thinking about reading it for ages. I definitely want to read this series in the new year. Then I can also read the Percy Jackson crossovers with this one.

cyoa2. Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris. I haven’t gotten around to reading this yet, even though I am super excited about it. After reading Yes Please by Amy Poehler (review of that will be up in about a week) recently I’ve become determined to read this one ASAP.

sie3. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson. I loved I’ll Give You the Sun and I’m super excited to read this one. I have been sitting on it, trying to brace myself for the amazingness that is Jandy Nelson, but I think it’s gotten buried and I just haven’t read it yet.

nas4. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell. I loved the miniseries of this show (Richard Armitage is amazing) so I was super excited to buy it when I watched the show. It took me awhile to actually buy it though, so I lost a little steam. I am definitely going to read this soon though.

lotr5. The Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R. Tolkien. I have owned these books for about a decade and haven’t gotten around to reading them. I started the first book but didn’t actually finish it because of school. I really want to read them all though, all of the extra Middle Earth stuff too.

lm6. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. I’ve been “reading” this book for like 2 years now. I started it when I was on vacation a few Christmases ago, then stopped reading it when I went back to school. I really want to finish reading it but it’s quite daunting considering the size.

iaac7. I Am A Cat by Soseki NatsumeI received this book as a Christmas gift about 10 years ago and then never got around to reading it. It is such a good book, I read about a third of it before, and I really want to restart and read the whole thing again.

hgbs8. The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins. I started reading these books a few weeks ago and now I really cannot wait to read the rest. This is probably the first one on the list I’m going to tackle after I catch up on NetGalley books.

lfa9. Looking For Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta. I loved the other books by Marchetta that I’ve read but I still haven’t been able to get ahold of this one. I really want to read this, and maybe reread On the Jellicoe Road at some point next year,

tm10. The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton. I recently bought this, though I’ve been thinking about buying it ever since it was released. I am so enamored with this book just based on the gorgeous cover.

To finish up this post I want to talk about the 2015 Reading Challenge over on Goodreads. I don’t really take this challenge too seriously, instead I read a lot of books because I love to read. Last year my goal was 150 books and I read, at the time of writing this, 255 books. I had a lot of free time last year, and a great schedule at school that left me a lot of time to read. More recently I have been busy or tired a lot, so I don’t read nearly as much. There’s no way I could ever read 200 books next year, I am definitely setting my goal lower, and even if I don’t achieve it, it doesn’t matter. That being said, I am setting myself a goal of 100 books for 2015. I am really looking forward to what this new year will bring, both in life and in reading, and I look forward to sharing it with you all.

Happy New Year!

Ramble on,
Kimber


What books do you want to read in 2015? Leave me a comment and let me know!
What goal are you setting fro the Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge? Let me know in the comments!
Check out The Readingdesk Reviews who was the inspiration for this post.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

One thought on “2015 New Years Read-olutions and Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge

Leave me a comment!

