Stacking the Shelves – Christmas Edition (20)

logo 2This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of for Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This is my special Christmas post where I’ll show all the books I got for Christmas!

There’s a lot of books for this post because everyone bought me books for Christmas!

hq mmFirst I got Harley Quinn: Vengeance Unlimited by A. J. LiebermanMike Huddleston, and Troy Nixey from my friend. This is one of the few recent Harley Quinn comics that I don’t already own. Then from my parents I got Mini Marvels: The Complete Collection by Chris Giarrusso, Sean McKeever, Marc Sumerak, Paul Tobin, and Audrey Loeb. I saw this at work and thought it was super adorable so it went straight onto my Christmas list.

cm sagaNext I received Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More by Kelley Sue DeConnick and David Lopez from my parents. I’ve been wanting to try out the Captain Marvel comics for awhile but didn’t ever get around to buying it. My parents also gave me Saga Vol. 4 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples. I’m super excited to read the next volume in this awesome series.

esvjMy brother gave me Ed Sheeran: A Visual Journey by Ed Sheeran and Phillip Butah. I featured this in a WoW post a while back so this was the perfect gift!

bitd gbbMy parents also gave me The Boy in the Dress by David Walliams and Gods Behaving Badly by Marie Phillips which have both been on my TBR list for a while. Amazing childrens writing and Greek gods? Awesome.

annexed lfsSome gifts from “Santa” AKA Me were Annexed by Sharon Dogar and Letters from Skye by Jessica Brockmole. I think I discovered both of these when browsing the Chapters Bargain section. They seem like interesting reads!

cbs secondsI discovered Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan while at work and asked my parents to buy me a copy for Christmas when we got a bunch at bargain price in at work. My friend also bought me Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley not realizing that my brother also has a copy. It’s okay, I loved it and am glad to have my own copy. I’ve reviewed this already too, so check that out!

ge atiw itwSome more gifts from “Santa” were Great Expectations by Charles DickensA Train in Winter by Caroline Moorehead, and Into the Woods by Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine. I bought all three of these at an antique store in town.

ayw ponafMy brother gave me As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride by Cary Elwes. I am really looking forward to this book because I love the movie! Then my parents gave me Prisoner of Night and Fog (Prisoner of Night and Fog #1) by Anne Blankman. There’s obviously a bit of a theme with lots of Holocaust and WWII related books, it is obviously an area of interest to me.

bossypants otfMy grandparents gave me Bossypants by Tina Fey which I asked for after reading Yes Please by Amy Poehler (that’s a WoW link, the review will be up in a few weeks). Then my parents gave me On the Fence by Kasie West which I asked for after reading The Distance Between Us (there’s a review of that coming soon too!).

ruf ttcycI received Rose Under Fire (Code Name Verity #2) by Elizabeth Wein from my grandparents. I loved Code Name Verity (review of this one coming soon too) so I can’t wait to read this. My parents gave me Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas. I loved Ask Again Later and have been waiting to read this all year, I even featured it in a WoW.

zodiac ebAfter I featured Zodiac (Zodiac #1) by Romina Russell in a WoW I was excited to see this under the tree on Christmas! I also gave myself the gift of an Every Breath (Every Breath #1) ARC by Ellie Marney which I picked up at work. I loved this book, so this is a great gift to me.

pce“Santa” also gave me the Pixar Character Encyclopedia by Steve Bynghall. This was such a good Black Friday deal I couldn’t pass it, up but I saved it for Christmas.

ucFinally Us Conductors by Sean Michaels was a gift I shared with my Dad. We had both expressed an interest in reading this book so I got it for the two of us to share.

Obviously I had a very book-ish Christmas, but what did you get this holiday season? Don’t forget to check out my non-Christmas Stacking the Shelves post where I talk about books I bought this week.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

