Stacking the Shelves (21)

logo 1This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of for Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This week I purchased 6 books, received 1 book on Goodreads First Reads, and received 3 books on Edelweiss. Check it out below!

PURCHASED

This week I picked up a few books. 1 because I wanted to read this sequel, 1 because I regretted not buying it sooner, and the other 3 were on sale! The last one was a last minute purchase.

cf and miniaturistThe first book I bought this week was Catching Fire (Hunger Games #2) by Suzanne Collins. I read The Hunger Games last week and decided I needed to read the sequel as soon as possible. I probably won’t get to read it too soon though because I have a lot of books to review before the end of January. Still…I’m looking forward to it! I also bought The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton. I had thought about buying this week ago, but decided against it. I immediately regretted it and decided to buy it on Boxing Day instead. The cover of this book is just gorgeous!

somiI picked up The Symptoms of My Insanity by Mindy Raf this week when it came into the store at bargain price. I’ve been wanting to read this for a long time, but never could find a copy. Now I’ve found one, and what’s even better:

somi 2it’s signed! This was a pretty lucky find for me.

questOn Boxing Day I also bought 2 more books. The first is Quest  (Journey #2) by Aaron Becker. I loved the previous book by Becker, Journey (Journey #1), and I had thought about buying this book before but didn’t want to spend so much money on a picture book. I got it on a discount on Boxing Day though, and am really excited to read it.

tfooaI also picked up The Fairest One of All: The Making of Walt Disney’s Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs by J. B. Kaufman and Mariah Bear. We received a box of these gorgeous books last week and I was holding out on buying it because it was pretty expensive, but I got it at bargain price on Boxing Day. This is a perfect book for fans of classic Disney.

unbrokenFinally I picked up Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand. I’ve been looking at buying this for ages, and found it at Costco for really cheap today, so I picked it up.

FIRST READS

I won 1 book this week on First Reads from Penguin Canada.

eaoarajI won Etta and Otto and Russell and James by Emma Hooper sometime last week on Goodreads First Reads and received it in the mail this week. This is my next book to read. I’m really interested in checking out this upcoming piece of Canadian Lit.

EDELWEISS

This week I received 3 book on Edelweiss, all three from HarperCollins Children.

paperweightFirst I received Paperweight by Meg Haston. This book sounds really interesting, and has some very important content about eating disorders and suicide. The cover is also stunning. I’m really interested in reading this and excited that I’ve received a DRC.

decI also received Don’t Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom. I think this book sounds really interesting and fun. The idea of a book about writing a book has always interested me. I’m really looking forward to this one.

btnFinally, I received Between the Notes by Shannon Huss Roat. This book sounds really interesting, it reminds me a bit of Wild AwakeThe cover is also gorgeous!

This week I also did a special Christmas edition of Stacking the Shelves because I got a lot of books for Christmas!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

