Review: Saga Volume 3 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

saga3Title: Saga Volume 3

Author: Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Publisher: Image Comics

Source: Purchased

Check out this book on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

 

3 stars

Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the universe. Searching for their literary hero, new parents Marko and Alana travel to a cosmic lighthouse on the planet Quietus, while the couple’s multiple pursuers finally close in on their targets. (Source: Goodreads)

This continuation of the Saga series picks up with the families arrival in Quietus and the weeks that follow as they settle into a sort of calm, before the Robot Prince arrives and disrupts everything. This volume is a little slower pace, dealing with the (sort of) calm before the storm which leads to their next adventure. The volume as deals with The Will, Lying Cat, Gwendolyn, and Slave Girl (Sophie) as they pursue the couple, and a pair of reporters trying to catch a good story.

While I enjoyed this volume, I found it a little disappointing compared to the strong start of the first two volumes. This volume was slow with very little action. I was also disappointed by the lack of Alana/Marko in this particular volume, even the lack of Hazel as a baby was kind of disappointing. Overall this volume had a stronger focus on some of the other characters, which was kind of blah to me. I like The Will, but not so much Gwendolyn, who dominated the volume all-in-all.

The art of this series, as always, continues to be incredibly beautiful. The outfit designs, those ones Barr made in the last volume, were gorgeous. The flying sharks were also really great to see. I was glad to see more exclusive art in the back, my favourite thing ever, and it was some really cool stuff including a drawing of Staples and Vaughan who illustrate and write the series.

The story in this volume was really the point which lacked in this volume. It was all rather dull to me. There wasn’t any action, and even the action that there was was just boring. I’m not a huge fan of Gwendolyn whose storyline is increasingly annoying more than interesting. The Will’s storyline, to me, was just dragged down by her presence. I find her beautifully illustrated but poorly written. There’s also a bit of confusion for me as to the length of time passing, and by the end of the volume there’s a jump forward possibly of a year or more? It seemed a little fast to me. The pacing of this series is getting kind of weird which is disappointing.

I do recommend this, as the series itself is really great. It was a disappointing volume but hopefully things will correct themselves in the future of the series. I’m looking forward to seeing more.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Saga Volume 3Let me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Fiona Staples at her blog and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

