ARC Review: Krampus! by Brian Joines, Dean Kotz, Ron Riley, and Charles Pritchett

krampusTitle: Krampus!

Author: Brian Joines, Dean Kotz, Ron Riley, and Charles Pritchett

Release Date: December 16

Publisher: Image Comics

Source: Diamond Book Distributors on NetGalley (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Preorder this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

Meet the Krampus, yuletide terror and punisher of wicked children. Long imprisoned for his outdated methods, the holiday horror suddenly finds himself freed and tasked with a mission: recover the stolen power of the Secret Society of Santa Clauses! With his flying wolf Stutgaard, the Krampus crosses the globe, encountering various figures of winter lore and uncovering a sinister scheme to topple the Santas and change Christmas as we know it forever! (Source: Goodreads)

This comic book about Krampus, the punisher of naughty children, features the beast assisting the Santa Society after their powers were taken away from them. He faces other beats of the holiday world while trying to regain the Santas’ powers and return the world to the way it should be – which is not in an ice age, before its too late.

This year looks like its the year of Krampus, with a story in My True Love Gave to Me and another graphic novel, Krampus: The Yule Lord, out this year there’s definitely been some great mentions of Krampus this year. When I saw that this was about Krampus I had to read it, I found the little story about him in My True Love Gave to Me too interesting to ignore further content about him. This didn’t disappoint.

The plot of this was really interesting. It’s great to see Krampus as the good guy, especially because he’s supposed to be “evil”, though both versions of him I’ve read about are pretty great. I loved that there were all these different versions of Santa from around the world, and that these other holiday characters were featured as well (like Jack Frost). I think at times things got a little confusing because there was a lot going on, lots of characters, lots of threads of plot lines. It was good, but confusing.

The writing was great. Lots of great humour, though some references were a little dated. I loved Krampus, he was witty and fun to follow. I think the German accent thing got a little old quickly, it just seemed a little dumb after a while. I think it was still really fun to read, with some interesting writing and clear voices in the text.

I liked the art. I loved the character design for Krampus it was really detailed and looked amazing. The different Santas were largely distinct, though sometimes it got a little confusing just from the sheer number of them. I think the art was gritty looking, which worked with the content. The colours were really vibrant and vivid which made for a visual feast.

I would recommend this, it was definitely a fun read and great for the holidays. The plot line of saving Christmas was really great and makes this a perfect release for the season. It’s definitely great for people interested in Krampus, especially since it’s not a common topic. I’d definitely like to see more of this.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Mike’s Place: A True Story of Love, Blues, and Terror in Tel AvivLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Brian Joines at his Twitter.
Check out Dean Kotz at his website and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

