Review: Texts from Jane Eyre by Mallory Ortberg

tfjeTitle: Texts from Jane Eyre: And Other Conversations with Your Favorite Literary Characters

Author: Mallory Ortberg

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

Source: Purchased

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

5 stars copy

Hilariously imagined text conversations—the passive aggressive, the clever, and the strange—from classic and modern literary figures, from Scarlett O’Hara to Jessica Wakefield. (Source: Goodreads)

Mallory Ortberg reimagines literary figures, characters and writers, in text message form. The messages range from Plato to Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games. I really enjoyed reading this book. I first discovered this when a friend read a few pages of it to me at work. I was hooked instantly. This book is very humourous and so fun. (This will probably be a pretty short review, I haven’t got much to say!) Ortberg is the author of The Toast and you can also check out Texts from Jane Eyre here.

The book is divided first into parts, which sort of separate things by era essential. Then each book has its own heading and sometimes art style. This means you can read the book in any order, which is great. My mom even flipped through the book and read a few of her favourite books’ sections. My top favourites were Sherlock HolmesHarry Potter, and Les Mis. These ones were just spot on and super hilarious.

I think the only difficulty people might have with this book is not being able to recognize the books being referenced, or not having read the books. I knew all of the books, but hadn’t read them all. Still the messages are too funny not to laugh at, and you can largely guess at just what joke is being made about the book.

This book is really funny and fun to read. I highly recommend it. In fact I think this would be a great gift, especially with the holidays approaching!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Texts from Jane EyreLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Mallory Ortberg at her Goodreads and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

