Review: Saga Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

sagaTitle: Sage Volume 1

Author: Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Publisher: Image Comics

Source: Purchased

Check out this book on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

5 stars copy

When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe. (Source: Goodreads)

Marko and Alana are from opposing sides of a long lasting war, they fall in love, get married, and have a baby. Hazel, who this story follows and is narrated by, is a mixed race alien baby whose very presence makes both sides in this war uncomfortable. Enemies from all over begin pursuing the couple, including the royal family of both sides and several hired assassins. Alana and Marko will do anything to protect Hazel. Saga follows them as they run and fight for their freedom and for their daughters future.

I loved this comic. It is probably one of the strongest first volumes of any series I’ve ever read. Just from the first panel I was completely hooked, and I’ve since run out and bought the next two volumes as well. Everything about this series is just amazing, the writing, the art, the plot, the characters. I am hooked. I honestly can’t think of a single complaint!

First of all the story? Amazing. The idea of this isn’t really anything unique obviously, lovers from enemy sides if pretty common but it just works so well and is told in such an interesting way. Setting this story in space really turns the story into something unique. I enjoyed the side stories about the Robot Prince and The Will, especially The Will’s plot to save the slave girl from Sextillion. Everything about the plot is just really great. This also combines with some fantastic writing. Narrating through Hazel works so well because it’s her reflecting on her life from a later place in life.

The art in this comic is really just amazing. The details and character design really blew me away. It was actually the art that drew me to this series because it just looks so interesting. Alana is definitely my favourite character in terms of design, she just looks cool and tough and amazing. The Stalk is also really interesting, I think Staples is really impressive because she was able to depict a spider/woman mixture without any awkward art or awkward panels. There’s not a single awkward panel in the book which is fantastic. I think Staples also really excels with expression, especially in the beginning when Alana is giving birth, those faces were amazing.

I think it’s very impressive that within the first issue, not volume but issue, the world of Saga is already so clear and so well structured that everything fits into place. It’s not like a lot of other comics where bits are missing or confusing or poorly explained, everything is there without dealing a lot of heavy handed exposition.

This really blew me away and hooked me in. I would highly recommend this to all readers of comics, though be warned there is some graphic content (it’s rated M afterall). This series is breathtakingly beautiful in art and storytelling. I am beyond impressed! Highly recommend!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Saga Volume 1Let me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Fiona Staples at her blog and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

