Stacking the Shelves (15)

logo

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of for Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This week I purchased 5 books and was gifted/won 3 books. Check it out below!

PURCHASED

So clearly all that business about not buying books and saving money is not working out too well for me. I made a bunch of purchases this week, all from work, some online and some in store.

waaolmFirst I purchased Wendy by Walter K. Scott. I saw this when I was doing receiving and it looked like it was right up my alley. It’s also made by a Canadian, which I did not realize when I bought it, but that just makes it cooler. At the same time I also picked up An Age of License: A Travelogue by Lucy Knisley. I wasn’t a huge fan of Knisley’s Relish: My Life in the Kitchen but I like her art style so I decided to give this book a shot. I am hoping she avoided the mistakes she made in Relish. I also got Magneto Vol. 1: Infamous by Cullen BunnGabriel Hernandez Walta, and Javi Fernandez. I will basically read anything that goes into Magneto’s origins in the Holocaust.

cnv lThen at the end of the week I picked up Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. This book came highly recommended from a friend of mine, and I decided, after she gave me a brief summary of the book, that it was perfect for me (possibly also what she thought because she knows I like stuff set in WWII). I’m really looking forward to this and it’s likely to jump up the list of books to be read. Then, in the mail I received Loki: Agent of Asgard Vol. 1: Trust Me by Al Ewing and Lee Garbett. I saw this at worked and it piqued my interest. I used it to fill up my order for free shipping (the other book was a Christmas present).

WON/GIFTED

I didn’t really know how to describe these books. I won them at work, but it was a bit like a Christmas gift from work too? Basically my name got pulled out of a hat and I won 3 books and some toys from the kids section.

pe

So, in my gift bag I got The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsberg.I’ve probably read this before when I was younger, but I did not own a copy of this book. I was pretty happy to see this because it’s one of those books you can keep and give to your own kids. It’s also the anniversary edition with the CD and the ornament.

mmssSecond was Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel 75th Anniversary by Virginia Lee BurtonI don’t think I’ve ever read this, but my parents both read it as kids, so they were pretty excited to see it.

journeyFinally I received Journey by Aaron Becker. I had never read of this book before, but it looks really gorgeous and I’ve seen a lot of great reviews so I’m looking forward to reading it.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

