Stacking the Shelves (14)

logo

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of for Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This post is two weeks worth of purchases because last week I was unable to post.

This week I purchased 10 book, received 4 books on NetGalley, and received 1 book from Goodreads. Check it out below!

PURCHASED

I’ve been trying to avoid buying things at work, but I still wound up making a few purchases. The first of which was because I was waiting for a ride and had 30 minutes of free time to shop. The second was because it was a good price.

cm First I bought Wildwood by Colin Meloy and Carson Ellis. I’ve been interested in reading this for a while, and when I saw the sequel on sale I knew it was time to buy it. So of course, I also bought Under Wildwood which was on sale at work. I’m really excited to read these books because they look really interesting.

sagaI also bought Saga Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples. I always thought this comic looked really interesting, and when I saw that the price was ridiculously less expensive than what I normally pay for comics I decided to pick it up. Also we got the collected hardcover in at work and that close up of the breastfeeding baby got people buzzing and piqued my interest. I’ve read this by now (it’s amazing!) and my review will be up next week.

Then this week I just a little…excited a bought a number of things. Some of which were online orders for books I wanted to read ASAP, and other’s were just things that caught my eye and I bought them so as not to forget.

sgaa2First I decided to follow-up last weeks purchases with the next two volumes of Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples‘s series so I got Saga Vol. 2 and Saga Vol. 3. I’ve not read Volume 3 yet but it will likely be my next book.

pbbThen I picked up Princesses Behaving Badly: Real Stories from History Without Fairy-Tale Endings by Linda Rodriguez McRobbie while I was at work because I was meant to shelve it and though “this looks interesting” so I bought it instead. It’s a bit of an unusual purchase for me, because it’s a history book, but it looks really interesting.

jejwThe first of my online orders from Chapters was to buy Texts From Jane Eyre: And Other Conversations with Your Favourite Literary Characters by Mallory Ortberg which my friend bought the only copy of at our store. She read little bits from it to me so I decided I need to have it. Then, to bring the order total up for the free shipping, I bought Him & Me by Jack and Michael Whitehall. I’ve wanted to read this for some time but I haven’t had the desire to order just for this book. Jack and his father are extremely funny, and this book contains some really funny anecdotes.

gcsreMy second online order from Chapters was to buy Gotham City Sirens Book 1 by Paul Dini and Guillem March. I had to order this ASAP because I have been wanting to read this ever since its initial publication back in 2009. I own the original second volume, but I think they’ve been recollected differently so they overlap. I lost the only copy of it at work somewhere in the backroom on one of the carts, so I just ordered it online instead. I also grabbed The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion. I just read The Rosie Project so I was determined to read the sequel.

NETGALLEY

I received 4 books from NetGalley this week.

fpFirst I received Strong Female Protagonist Book 1 by Brennan Lee Mulligan and Molly Ostertag from Diamond Books Distributors. I’m really interested in seeing how this comic about a former superhero plays out. My review of this will be out soon and it’s my next book to read. I also think the art looks awesome on this one.

judasThe other book I received this week was Judas: The Last Days by W. Maxwell Prince and John Amor from Diamond Book Distributors. This graphic novel also sounds really interesting. I haven’t looked into the art too much, because I was trying to finish off my last book, but the cover looks amazing.

A Darker Shade final for IreneI also received a preview except of A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab from Macmillan-Tor/Forge. This book has an amazingly interesting cover and sounds really interesting. It’s not the full galley, but that may be better if it turns out to be good I’ll wind up buying it!

wshostMy final NetGalley book this week is We Should Hang Out Sometime: Embarrassingly a True Story by Josh Sundquist from Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. This book sounds like it could be really cute and funny. Except a review next month just before the release date.

GOODREADS

I received 1 book from Goodreads First Reads.

mkThis week I won The Woman Who Stole My Life by Marian Keyes from First Reads and Penguin. I think this book has a beautiful cover, though my ARC is a little less interesting looking. We have this book at work and I’ve been eyeballing it since we got it in. I’m not hugely excited for this one, but you can expect a review in the next 2 weeks.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

6 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (14)

Leave me a comment!

