Review: Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona

mmTitle: Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal

Author: G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona

Publisher: Marvel Now!

Source: Purchased

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

5 stars copy

Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City — until she’s suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? Find out as she takes the Marvel Universe by storm! When Kamala discovers the dangers of her newfound powers, she unlocks a secret behind them, as well. Is Kamala ready to wield these immense new gifts? Or will the weight of the legacy before her be too much to bear? Kamala has no idea, either. But she’s comin’ for you, New York! (Source: Goodreads)

Kamala Khan wants to be strong and beautiful like her hero Captain Marvel, when she gains superpowers overnight she suddenly can be, but she realizes she’s not Captain Marvel, and she doesn’t need to be, she’s strong and beautiful in her own right…as Kamala…as Ms. Marvel. Together with her friend Bruno she begins to fight for justice, and her friends, against the Inventor.

There are so, so, so many things to like about this comic book. I enjoy every moment of this because it was fun, and interesting, and had so many positive things happening in it. I loved the characters and the art, and just everything.

Kamala was an interesting character. She is very opinionated and passionate, which was great. She’s a strong lead, and really carries the story well. I liked her struggle about image and race, she is Muslim and I think they did well to represent the struggle of the lack of non-white women for young girls to look up to in popular media. I think Kamala is a fantastic person so fill that hole. I also really liked her friend Bruno, who was cute. Her family struggle, and her family in general were pretty great too. There isn’t really any villain in this volume, he’s only just introduced at the end, so there isn’t much to comment on about that.

I liked the plot, as I’ve already suggested. My only complaint here is that the source of her powers is somewhat poorly explained, or really rather poorly explained. I didn’t understand and maybe I’m meant to have read more Marvel stuff? I don’t read a lot of Marvel though. Otherwise I really liked the plot.

I loved the art in this comic. The style is just great. I feels really fresh and clean (that sounds so weird) but it just seems youn I guess, which fits Kamala well. I loved the character design. Kamala isn’t the stereotypical big boobed, skinny waisted, high boots, skimpy outfit superhero she’s sort of average in size, she wears comfortable clothing, something you might wear on a normal day but just brighter. I found the characters really beautiful as well, the faces and expression were great. I really liked it all

Overall I think this comic is great. I also think it’s great that the comics world is becoming more diverse with more representation of race and gender, it is not perfect in anyway but it is certainly improving. Highly recommend!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No NormalLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out G. Willow Wilson at her Goodreadswebsite, and Twitter.
Check out Adrian Alphona at his blog and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

2 thoughts on “Review: Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona

Leave me a comment!

