Review: Every Breath by Ellie Marney

every breathTitle: Every Breath (Every #1)

Author: Ellie Marney

Publisher: Tundra Books

Source: Purchased

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

5 stars copy

When James Mycroft drags Rachel Watts off on a night mission to the Melbourne Zoo, the last thing she expects to find is the mutilated body of Homeless Dave, one of Mycroft’s numerous eccentric friends. But Mycroft’s passion for forensics leads him to realize that something about the scene isn’t right–and he wants Watts to help him investigate the murder.

While Watts battles her attraction to bad-boy Mycroft, he’s busy getting himself expelled and clashing with the police, becoming murder suspect number one. When Watts and Mycroft unknowingly reveal too much to the cold-blooded killer, they find themselves in the lion’s den–literally. A trip to the zoo will never have quite the same meaning to Rachel Watts again. (Source: Goodreads)

Rachel Watts and James Mycroft are a modern day Sherlock and Holmes, in fact they hope to be just like them. When their friend is murdered the two work hard to find out who killed him and why, facing off against cops, murderers, the school, their parents, and even lions. The pair make a charming modern take on Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s classic duo, there’s wit, charm, and sexual tension which make this story fun and charming against a thrilling and terrifying murder mystery.

I really enjoyed this so much. It was a bit of a slow start for me, but then once I got into it I devoured it as quickly as I could. I just found this books fun and witty and cute and sweet and really, very interesting as Sherlock Holmes related stuff tends to be. It wasn’t perfect but the things I want to complain about don’t really merit removing any stars. I loved this book too much.

I really liked Rachel Watts as a narrator. I found her interesting. I liked her backstory because it was very realistic. Her family has recently moved to the city after being farmers forever, and she doesn’t like the city. Her anxiety about the city, and her frustration with her family about responsibility and finances was really realistic and created a lot of really excellent depth to Watts’s character. I thought she was a good Watson character, her naiviety, openness, and kind of poor relationship with the city make her a good balance to Mycroft.

James Mycroft was really…great? I really just loved him to bits. His backstory, the possible murder of his family, was really interesting and much darker than Watts’s, which really works well to form Mycroft as he is. I found Mycroft maybe a more manageable version of Sherlock, which worked well within the confines of a YA books, especially because there is some sexual tension and romance and you need him to be a little more likeable than Sherlock can be. There was definitely something charming and kind of sexy to the mystery of his character. He’s still deeply flawed but it works so well.

The chemistry between Watts and Mycroft is excellent. They have some good banter and witty discussion, which really means that the book could have gone without the romantic relationship bit, because they were excellent friends. That being said, the romance is so sweet. Slow building and then explosive. Fantastic. I loved the building up of small touches and glances. It was really sweet. I cannot wait for more of this in the sequels.

The murder mystery was really interesting and hard to stop reading. I really enjoyed it. Yes, it was sort of predictable and I identified the murderer as soon as they were introduced, but(!!) it was still very interesting and exciting to read. I thought it took some interesting turns, which I didn’t predict, so that was really great. One thing that was nice was that not everything is stated explicitly, I kind of liked this because it showed how uncomfortable and inexperienced Watts was about the subject matter.

There are a lot of Sherlock Holmes references. I don’t think I got all of them, because I haven’t read the books though I watched the old show and watch Sherlock and on occasion Elementary. I still got a lot of them, and some of them are really spelled out for you. There are some that are really funny. The thing I didn’t like was that Sherlock Holmes exist in this universe. I found it kind of weird, especially at first because they want to be him. It got less weird, but I felt weird about the constant acknowledgement of the Sherlock references.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and highly recommend it. I am definitely going to buy the sequels when they’re released in North America. If you like Sherlock I think you’d probably like this book.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Every BreathLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Ellie Marney at her website, Goodreads, and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

2 thoughts on “Review: Every Breath by Ellie Marney

Leave me a comment!

