Stacking the Shelves (13)

logoThis week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of for Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This week I purchased 5 book, was gifted 1 book, gifted 2 books and 1 boxset, and received 1 book on NetGalley. Check it out below!

PURCHASED

This week I made quite a few purchases, more than I intended. First I bought 2 books at 40% off from the bestsellers at work. They’re both non-fiction and from some of my favourite actors.

ap nphI got Amy Poehler‘s Yes Please. I did a WoW featuring this a few weeks ago. I was super pumped to buy it. I love Poehler and was so glad to see she had a memoir out. Then I got Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris. I was going to buy this for my brother originally but I saw a few quotes from it and decided I needed it for myself.

Then I went on a bit of a comic book rampage. There’s a lot of really great stuff coming out in the comics world, or already out, with lots of female writers doing female superheroes (Catwoman, Supergirl, Batgirl, Batwoman, Harley Quinn, and so on) so I decided to start reading these.

mmFirst of all I got Ms. Marvel Vol 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona. This comic is really amazing. I am absolutely loving it, after hearing all kinds of wonderful things about it. I think it’s exciting that Ms. Marvel is not white, and is Muslim, because that is some really needed representation. On top of that it deals with body image and issues of race which is really great.

bg gogI also got Batgirl Vol. 1: The Darkest Reflection by Gail SimoneArdian Syaf, and Vincente Cifuentes. This comic looks really great, and, as I said before, it’s written by a woman. Unfortunately I couldn’t find any of the other comics I wanted featuring female writers but I’ll keep looking. I also picked up Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2: Angela by Brian Michael BendisSara PichelliFrancesco FrancavillaOlivier CoipelValerio Schiti, and Kevin Maguire. I’ve already read and reviewed the first volume of this series. I’m pretty excited to read the next one.

GIFT

I received one gift book this week. It was another case of the book being thrown out and me taking it home with me instead.

sdI got another Sarah Dessen book this week. Lock and Key which is one of the Sarah Dessen books I’ve heard quite a lot about. Like last time I’m not super interested in reading it, but I will eventually.

Then I bought quite a few gifts this week, at least it feels like a lot. Two of them are for a friend who is graduating from university in a few weeks. The other is for my niece for Christmas.

bb bmI picked up The Berenstain Bears’ Graduation Day by Mike Berenstain. We’ve given each other children’s books as gifts a few times, as jokes sort of. I was a big fan of the Berenstain Bears growing up so I thought this would be a good gift. Then my friend is a big fan of Batman and has been reading the New 52 series so I bought him Batman Vol. 5: Zero Year – Dark City by Scott Snyder. He already knows about all of these gifts and I think he’s really looking forward to the Batman comic especially.

bcFor my niece I bought The World of Beverly Cleary Collection because I know they’re popular books with a good female lead and she’ll be able to read them for a long time. It includes 15 books so it should be good for her to read for a while to come.

NETGALLEY

Then from NetGalley I got one book, which was completely unexpected.

mpI received Mike’s Place: A True Story of Love, Blues, and Terror in Tel Aviv by Joshua FaudemJack Baxter, and Koren Shadmi from First Second Books. I’m pretty excited about this one because they tend to put out lots of great stuff. It’s not out until mid-2015 so you won’t see the review anytime soon but I will be reading it soon.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

