Stacking the Shelves (10)

logo

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of for Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This week I purchased 2 box sets, 2 books, and received 4 books on NetGalley. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

This week there was a no minimum free shipping event at Chapters. I didn’t really need to take advantage of this, I work at Chapters, but I found 2 things I wanted to get that were either cheaper to buy online, or not available at my store. So I ordered them online, got free shipping, and was pleased to have them arrive this week. Even if I don’t have time to read them anytime soon.

nelsonThe first thing I bought was Jandy Nelson‘s The Sky is Everywhere. I absolutely loved I’ll Give You the Sun and raved about it in my review so I knew I had to get Nelson’s earlier work. I had been hoping to find this at work, but no luck. I was really happy about the no minimum free shipping event because it meant I could get this without having to search other stores, order it into the store, or pay shipping. While I really want to read this ASAP I have so many galleys to read and review this month it’s a little ridiculous. Hopefully soon though.

riordanThe other thing I bought during this no minimum free shipping event was The Kane Chronicles Box Set by Rick Riordan. I bought my Percy Jackson and the Olympians books as a box set so I figured I would get the matching box set for this series too. I’ll likely wait to get The Heroes of Olympus books as a boxset next year or something. There is a box set coming out, but I’d prefer a paperback box set.

riordan 2So, the reason I bought this? With the announcement about the next series about gods coming out next year I realized…The Kane Chronicles are related to the PJ series. I hadn’t really planned on reading them, but decided that I would because it’s all tied together. Don’t know when I’ll get around to reading this.

There next few things were something of a surprise. I went out today, before I had time to write this post, and stopped in at Costco to buy some drinks, and suddenly I’m like I need all of these books. So…I bought all of them.

westerfeldFirst I bought Scott Westerfeld‘s Afterworlds because I have been hearing nothing but amazing things about this book. I loved the Uglies series so I was like, yes please give me more Westerfeld. Also, the deal on this one is kind of ridiculous like…50% off.

dahlThen I came across this Roald Dahl Collection which includes 15 books. Not a lot of people know this but I was a huge Roald Dahl fan as a kid. I think The BFG was one of the first 4 books I ever read on my own.

dahl 2When I saw this (for less than $20) I was like “WHAT? I NEED THIS.” I doubt that I’ll ever get around to reading it ’cause my entire room is overflowing with books, but it’s something I’m glad to own because I can go back and look at The Witches and other great Roald Dahl books.

NETGALLEY

This week I might have gone a little crazy with requests on NetGalley again. I received 4 books.

cfacFirst I received Cold Feet at Christmas by Debbie Johnson from HarperImpulse/HarperCollins UK. I think this sounds pretty cute, and I am actually looking forward to reading it. Once again, Christmas, winter, foreign setting, romance…my perfect book. Hope it doesn’t let me down.

tmahacsfNext I received, Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan from Algonquin Books. I had been quite looking forward to reading this because it’s sort of an interesting idea. I have by now read it, and you’ll see the review on the release date, October 7th.

tsobThen I received my first ever Jojo Moyes book, The Ship of Brides from Penguin Group. This is one of Moyes’s older books, but its only now being published in North America. I am super looking forward to reading this because I always hear great things about Moyes. I have, by now, starting reading it and I am already hooked.

soppyFinally, I received Soppy: A Love Story by Philippa Rice from Andrews McMeel Publishing. This is a serialized comic, so some people may have read the comics online already. I think it may have already been published in the UK but it’s only just now coming to North America. I;m really excited for this because I’ve seen this comic online before and it’s really adorable.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

6 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (10)

  1. I have yet to read Percy Jackson, I really want to, but I already have so many books on my TBR. I have no idea if I want to go back to read an older series. I’m so confused, I wanna but I don’t!
    I really want to read a book by JoJo Moyes I hear really good things!

    Hope you enjoy all your new books 🙂

    Like

    1. I know how you feel. I think what spurred me on to read it was seeing the movies and being like “what is going on?” I think it’s definitely worth reading, especially because it’s still an ongoing series, with the Heroes of Olympus, Kane Chronicles, and next year the new series that ties in as well.
      I’m not super far into The Ship of Brides yet, but it’s so well written. I honestly can’t believe I hadn’t heard more about Moyes before, because the writing is really good.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

Leave me a comment!

