Stacking the Shelves (9)

logo

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of for Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This week I purchased 3 books and received 5 books on NetGalley. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

This week I definitely took advantage of being at Chapters all the time for work, I picked up a book almost every day I was at work, and the day I didn’t? I bought a calendar. I got 3 books this week all from Chapters. I also spent a lot of time eyeing books at Wal-Mart while I was waiting for a bus. Another bit of advice for book lovers on a budget: Wal-Mart does 40% off new releases (including boxsets!!) so y’know, check it out if you’re ever in a Wal-Mart.

morrill west mcnamaraThe First thing I bought this week was Lauren Morrill‘s Being Sloane JacobsI was recently reminded of my absolutely love for Morrill’s super heart squinching book Meant to Be and decided I need a little more Lauren Morrill in my life so I picked up her more recent book and am really excited to read it. Next I bought, Kasie West‘s The Distance Between Us. This is actually a damaged book I bought for charity from work, I’ve been eyeing this book for a while though not really sure if I wanted it, so I was more than willing to pick it up for cheap and support a good cause all at once. Finally, we got some new bargain options in at work and one was From Notting Hill with Love…Actually by Ali McNamara. This book has been on my TBR list for a while, though I’m not sure why (probably the references to two British rom-coms?) so figured I’d get it and check it out considering it wouldn’t set me back much coming from the bargain section.

NETGALLEY

This week I went a little crazy and requested a ton of books on NetGalley, thinking I wouldn’t get approved for any, instead I received 5, which totally shocked me.

wcFirst up, The Walled City by Ryan Graudin from Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. This book sounds like it’ll have an action feel to it, which I think it interesting. The description also made me think of the The Maze Runner, since the idea is everyone is walled into this city. I’m probably totally off base in this connection. I think this’ll be an interesting read and I’m looking forward to reading it in the weeks to come.

actraNext I received, A Christmas to Remember  from Forever (Grand Central Publishing) which is an anthology featuring: Jill ShalvisKristen AshleyHope RamsayMolly Cannon, and Marilyn Pappano. Of course I requested this because I was excited for some more Christmas love stories. I didn’t realize these were all from different established series! Hopefully I’ll still be able to understand them, because I’m definitely not going to read all 5 series to catch up.

twauThe third book I received is The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma from Algonquin Books. I’ve been eyeing this book for ages and had it on my TBR list because there is just something eye catching about that cover. I was totally shocked to find out I’d been approved for this one because I think it’s pretty highly anticipated, or maybe that’s just me? Really excited to read this!

tempThe fourth book is The Temp by Emily Benet from HarperImpulse/HarperCollins UK. I think this book sounds like a cute New Adult/Adult romance/coming of age type story. It’s next on my list to read and review on NetGalley. I think this book is being serialized, so you can actually read some of the chapters now I think but I’ll be reading the complete series in one go.

papFinally, I received Pride and Prejudice from Udon Entertainment’s Manga Classics series, adapted by Stacy King with art by Po Tse. I’ve seen this around work and kind of requested it out of curiosity. Kind of excited to read it but not expecting to like it all that much as I’m not a huge manga fan.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

6 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (9)

  1. I bought Meant To Be a few weeks ago. 🙂 I’ve heard good things about it, glad to hear you like it. Being Sloane Jacobs sounds interesting. I’ve been wanting to read The Distance Between Us and On The Fence by Kasie West. They were both actually on my “to buy” list this month but…I never bought either before blowing my book “budget”. The Walled City sounds fantastic, I’ve been excited for that book.

    I love romance anthologies, I’ll have to check out, A Christmas to Remember. Hopefully they all work well as stand-alones.

    Like

    1. Oh, yay! I love that book to pieces. I keep hearing about On the Fence, I will have to check that book out.

      It will be super disappointing if they don’t work as stand-alones because I will be so lost.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave me a comment!

