Stacking the Shelves (8)

logo

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of for Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This week I purchased 4 books and received 2 books on NetGalley. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

Last weekend was my birthday, and while no one bought me any books for my birthday, I bought myself a few birthday books. First I was at the grocery store and I noticed a couple great deals in the book section, both of these books were 40% off. This is a tip I’ll give to Canadians: Zehrs/Loblaws has all kinds of 40% off books, especially bestsellers/new popular books. Shoppers also has a lot of new books and bestsellers at 25% off. So…y’know  if you’re ever shopping there don’t forget to check out the books.

telgemeier dashnerFirst I finally bought a copy of Sisters (Smile #2by Raina Telgemeier. I had already read an ARC of this book and reviewed it a month or so ago. I absolutely love this book and am thrilled to finally have a copy of it. I re-read it as soon as I got home from the store. I also picked up The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1) by James Dashner. To be completely honest I’m not super interested in reading this book, but figured I might wind up seeing the movie at some point so I should probably read it. I’ve heard lots of great things about this series, especially from my supervisor at work so I’m a little more excited to read it than I was before.

This week was my first week of work at Chapters, which means I spent money I don’t really have and bought things after 2 of my shifts because now that I’m around books all the time it’s a lot easier to pick out what I’m going to buy and…being at the store makes it more convenient.

nelson childI bought I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I featured this in a Waiting on Wednesday and I’m really excited to finally read this. Unfortunately, I work early morning and am super tired all the time so I’m not very far into it yet, but I can tell you that it is a really great book so far. Then I picked up a birthday present for my Dad, Lee Child‘s Personal (Jack Reacher #19). He was really happy to receive it which is great to hear because I was terrified that he hadn’t read the previous ones yet.

NETGALLEY

This week I received 2 books from NetGalley.

actrFirst was A Christmas to Remember by Jenny Hale from Bookouture. You might know, from reading the last WoW, that I am a sucker for love stories set in the winter, especially around Christmas so this was a book that I was immediately drawn to. I’m really excited to read and review it in the next week or so.

hgThe second book was Hyacinth Girls by Lauren Frankel from Crown Publishing. I think the story sounds really interesting and deals with a really important issue (bullying) so I’m excited to read it and review it. This book doesn’t hit shelves until next spring so the cover hasn’t been revealed yet but I’m excited to see what it is.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

10 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (8)

    1. Thank you! The impulse is really too much, half the time I’m shelving books I’m also thinking “Oh this is something I’d like to buy, I’ll have to add it to the TBR pile and remember where it’s shelved”. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave me a comment!

