Review: Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 1: Cosmic Avengers

guardiansTitle: Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 1: Cosmic Avengers

Author: Brian Michael Bendis

Publisher: Marvel Comics

Source: Purchased

Check out the book on Goodreads.

Buy it at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

There’s a new rule in the galaxy: No one touches Earth! But why has Earth suddenly become the most important planet in the galaxy? That’s what the Guardians of the Galaxy are going to find out! Join Star-Lord, Gamora, Drax, Rocket Raccoon, Groot and — wait for it — the Invincible Iron Man as they embark upon one of the most explosive and eye-opening chapters of Marvel NOW! The secrets these galactic Avengers discover will rattle Marvel readers for years to come! But while London deals with a brutal invasion by the Badoon, the fate of the Guardians may have already been decided millions of miles away! (Source: Goodreads)

This is the first volume of the new Guardians of the Galaxy series. It also feature Iron Man, who is not one of the Guardians but is friends with Peter Quill. This volume acts as an introduction to the Guardians and establishes the story of a battle between Quill and his father, King J’Son of Spartax.

I liked this comic book. It was good, I don’t think it was particularly amazing or anything but it got me interested and I think I’ll buy other volumes in the future. Just to establish some things before we get into the main review: this is not the same as the movies! Yes it’s the same characters, in the same world, but it’s not the movie, it’s not the plot of the movie, they’re somewhat unrelated. If you want to read a comic that is directly tied to the movies there is this one which I have not read. With that out of the way…let’s talk comics.

The story of the comic is…interesting. I think they could have picked something more interesting that would lead into better initial action to be honest. I think it was a little dull compared to what they could have picked…especially because the comic makes constant reference to other adventures they’ve been on. Most of which sound more interesting. I think the story will pick up the pace a little in the next volume, and that will certainly make it more interesting.

I think the characters were good. I don’t feel that you got enough of a sense of most of them in the limited amount of space that was in the volume. I think Rocket was really the only one you got to know well enough to care about, and he was really funny. Maybe also Groot. I think this comic really establishes them as the favourites, for me at least, much in the same way the movie did. Tony Stark/Iron Man is in this comic as well, not entirely sure why because he was kind of pointless…but maybe that’ll change in later issues? There is a series of short comics, vignettes, what ever at the end of the volume which are supposed to serve as introductions to the characters which I thought were pretty enjoyable. It was also great to see a variation on the art in these shorts which had a good range of styles.

Speaking of art, the overall style was good in my opinion. Lots of detail. Groot especially looked amazing consistently throughout the entire volume which really impressed me. I’m also a bit of a sucker for cover art and variant art, which this contains a huge amount of. The back is filled with variant art, some of which is too adorable for words. (There’s an adorable Groot piece in the back that made me squeal with delight.) The art definitely gets a huge thumbs up from me.

Overall I enjoyed this comic book. I think the pacing was a little slow for a first volume but I think the characters and art made up for it. I am hooked, though hesitant towards future issues because the pacing could really turn out bad and never improve. I’d recommend this, and will probably be loaning it out to friends soon, because it was a good read. It’s not the best comic ever, but it’s good. Be prepared for a slow start, but maybe hold out for the future? I certainly will be.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 1: Cosmic AvengersLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out the writer, Brian Michael Bendis, at his website, and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

One thought on “Review: Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 1: Cosmic Avengers

Leave me a comment!

