Stacking the Shelves (3)

logo

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of for Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This week I bought 7 books, borrowed 1 book, and received 3 books from NetGalley. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

This week I didn’t do a lot of book shopping, I did go to Chapters for a little while one night nearly bought Cammie McGovern’s Say What You Will but talked myself out of it because of the price.

halpernEventually I settled for buying Julie Halpern‘s Get Well Soon. I bought the sequel Have a Nice Day last week without realizing it was the second book, so I figured I’d pick this up so that I could read and review them ASAP because Julie Halpern writes amazing books. (Into the Wild Nerd Yonder was fantastic.)

Then on Friday I had one of my most exciting days ever. I went into Toronto for a book signing with Jamie Blackley and Gayle Forman. I’ll be doing a full post on this later this weekend. While I was there I picked up a few other things.

perkinsFirst of all, I got my copy of Isla and the Happily Ever After. It came with stickers and buttons. I’m so excited to read this. Expect a review tomorrow! Also a huge thanks to Mabel’s Fables for being so amazing!

strasserAlso from Mabel’s Fables, I got Fallout by Todd Strasser. This was a damaged copy and I got it at a good discount, which is always nice. I’m super excited to have found this because I’ve never come across it before.

formanThen, before the signing I picked up a movie tie-in edition of If I Stay so that my mom would get something signed too, and not just stand around for hours. So I have a fantastic fresh copy of the book signed by Jamie and Gayle.

andersonWhile I was waiting for the signing I also picked up a copy of Laurie Halse Anderson‘s Wintergirls. This has been sitting on my TBR list for a while, and my mom pointed out that I hadn’t read anything by Anderson in awhile so I picked this book up.

 

fairestFinally, I got two gifts for my older brother. Fairest Volume 3: The Return of the Maharaja which is a continuation of the Fables spin-off. I don’t think he even realized it had been released so he was excited to receive it.

kafkaSecond was Kafka on the Shore. He is a really big Haruki Murakami fan and he’s already read the book but wanted to have a copy of it himself. I’ve already given them to him, and he was really happy to receive them.

BORROWED

This week I also borrowed one book from my brother, which was a book I was planning to buy myself, but don’t need to now.

omalleyBryan Lee O’Malley‘s brand new Seconds. I am really really really excited to read this and have been looking forward to reading it since it was announced.

NETGALLEY

I also joined NetGalley this week. I know I won’t get a lot of books anytime soon because my blog is so new, but I figured I’d go establish myself on the site a little but reviewing a few auto-approved books.

sistersFirst of all I got Raina Telgemeier‘s Sisters (Smile #2) from Scholastic. I love Raina Telgemeier and was crazy excited to read this. I wrote a review of it already, which you can read here, and I highly recommend it.

isoI also got Isobel Harrop‘s The Isobel Journal from Capstone. I had heard a lot of good things about this book, unfortunately I wasn’t so wild about it. You can read my review here.

in real lifeFinally, I received a copy of In Real Life by Lawrence Tabak from Tuttle Publishing on NetGalley. You won’t see a review of this until November, but I’m excited to have received the book and hope you’ll check it out!

That’s what I stacked my shelves with this week!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

3 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (3)

Leave me a comment!

