Review: Snowed In by Rachel Hawthorne

snowedi

Title: Snowed In

Author: Rachel Hawthorne

Publisher: Harper Teen

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy it at: ChaptersBook Depository

3 stars

Well, apparently I live here now—my mom just bought the place. And named it after me, Ashleigh, which was nice. But did she know how cold it is here??

Um, it’s a tiny island with not much to do, unless you really like sleigh rides. But I gotta say there are quite a few hot guys on this cold island . . . (Source: Goodreads)

This book is just…fluff and romance and cute and sweet. Ashleigh’s move north is a little ridiculous because it doesn’t snow that much all the time forever where she would be moving to, but I get that’s the humor of the book…the snow. I love wintertime so I thought the romance set in the snow was really cute. Rachel Hawthorne is the penname of Jade Parker, and also writes as Lorraine Heath.

Ashleigh doesn’t want to have a boyfriend, she wants to date around, but she doesn’t want to commit. I think this is a pretty standard character type, and she wasn’t really a unique character as such. However, she was still a sweet character confused by her feelings, which made her likeable. Her last name…Sneaux…like “snow”…so cheesy, it made me cringe a little.

The love interest Josh was sweet and pretty memorable. He’s a carpenter whose is doing work on her family’s new home. He takes Ashleigh on a lot of cute adventures, snow volleyball, sleigh ride, skiing, etc., all very cute dates that would make me swoon in real life. To add to the cheese of the whole book…his last name is Wynter. Yup. Cringe, cringe, cringe.

Ashleigh’s new best friend, Nathalie, was supremely unlikeable. First of all…her name is not NATalie, its NATHalie…and its pronounced like Nath (of Nathan)-a-lie (like Leland), this was an annoying little name to read in my head. On top of that, her personality was just not great. She’s very pushy. One of the things Ashleigh finds annoying about her, which I found incredibly annoying as well, was that she never calls anyone by their name she just says “my best friends”, “my boyfriend”, etc. So annoying.

I had some preconceived expectations about this book. It is essentially a teen romance novel, so I did not expect a brilliantly written masterpiece or anything, which it wasn’t. The pace of the novel is a little too quick, so you really only get shallow impressions of everyone and everything. The pace of the relationships is super unrealistic, but I kind of accepted that as a quality of the teen romance novel.

This book is really light and quick to read. I read the whole thing in one night. Overall, I actually found it really enjoyable to read and kind of liked it. There weren’t any major swoon moments, nor did my heart squinch at a single thing, but I found it cute and sweet. This is the kind of book that makes a perfect refresher to either a bad book, an unenjoyable book, or a really heavy read. It’s nothing great, and nothing special but it was sweet and fluffy and the kind of thing we all need once in awhile.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Snowed InLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Rachel Hawthorne on her website, and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

One thought on “Review: Snowed In by Rachel Hawthorne

Leave me a comment!

