Stacking the Shelves (2)

logo

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of for Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This week I picked up 11 books, check them out below!

PURCHASED

This week I went to one of my favourite book stores around, the Book Outlet. This store is fantastic! They sell new books, and damaged books, at lower prices and often they have hard to find books at great prices. I spent hours in this store wandering around and wound up with 11 books, which I was not at all expecting.

potts pope gleitzman

First of all I got Good Eggs bt Phoebe Potts. To be honest, I’m not sure why I got this book. I think I got it confused with another book. I think I’ll still like it though, because I do enjoy this type of graphic novel that deals with difficult subjects and this one, infertility, is definitely difficult. This one wasn’t a damaged copy but when I got it home I accidentally ripped the cover.

Then I got a copy of Battling Boy by Paul Pope. I’ve been wanting to pick this up for a while and I couldn’t resist when I saw it at the store. This was probably the most expensive thing I bought this week.

I also picked up Once and Then by Morris Gleitzman from his Once series. I took a Holocaust Film class when I was in school and since then I often find myself picking up media about the Holocaust, especially geared towards younger audiences just to see how its handled. I am really interested in reading these but I might leave them until I have the whole series.

rosenthal halpern myracle blackI also picked up Other Words for Love by Lorraine Zago Rosenthal. I have been trying to find this book forever but I could never ever find it. Will hopefully read it soon and review it.

Then I found Have a Nice Day by Julie Halpern. Unfortunately I forgot this is a sequel, so while I really want to read it I can’t because I need to buy Get Well Soon first.

I also got The Fashion Disaster that Changed My Life by Lauren Myracle. I picked this up just because I couldn’t resist the price. I loved Myracle’s Shine which was aimed at an older audience so I thought I’d check out some of her work for younger kids.

Then I got Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd which is edited by Holly Black and Cecil Castellucci. I really wanted to find this for a while because it has a lot of awesome writers (John Green, David Levithan, Scott Westerfeld, etc.) and I love these kinds of short story anthologies.

sharenow hawthorne formanThe last of my Book Outlet haul includes The Berlin Boxing Club by Robert Sharenow. This is another case of Holocaust media research and critiquing.

I also picked up Sisters in Sanity by Gayle Forman. This is Gayle Forman’s first YA novel and I figured I’d read it to see how her writing has changed since and especially because I loved all of her other books, including her Travelogue You Can’t Get There From Here: A Year on the Fringes of a Shrinking World.

Finally, I got Snowed In by Rachel Hawthorne. I came across this in my Goodreads recommendations, probably because of Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle, and decided to pick it up.

So that’s what I added to my shelves this week!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

4 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (2)

Leave me a comment!

