Review: Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski

ttwdTitle: Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have)

Author: Sarah Mlynowski

Publisher: Harper Teen

Source: Purchased

Check this book out at Goodreads.

Buy it at: Chapters | Book Depository

2 stars

If given the opportunity, what sixteen-year-old wouldn’t jump at the chance to move in with a friend and live parent-free? Although maybe “opportunity” isn’t the right word, since April had to tell her dad a tiny little untruth to make it happen (see #1: “Lied to Our Parents”). But she and her housemate Vi are totally responsible and able to take care of themselves. How they ended up “Skipping School” (#3), “Buying a Hot Tub” (#4), and, um, “Harboring a Fugitive” (#7) is a mystery to them. To get through the year, April will have to juggle a love triangle, learn to do her own laundry, and accept that her carefully constructed world just might be falling apart . . . one thing-she-shouldn’t-have-done at a time. (Source: Goodreads)

This book was just…so many things. It wasn’t great, it wasn’t bad…it was mostly just mediocre. I found it kind of dull. It was an easy read, and I breezed right through it, but I don’t know that I would ever read it again. It was just an easy read, a quick read, an ok read. It was particularly enjoyable, but I didn’t dislike it.

To start off with…the plot wasn’t particularly interesting to me. I found a lot of it kind of dumb to be honest. Eventually Mlynowski works herself into some more complex and interesting subjects like abandonment, health, family problems but for the most part the book is just partying and some really annoying whining on April’s part.

I found most of the character’s very boring or annoying. April was very immature and really difficult to deal with for the most part. Her character really lacks any depth until the final pages of the book. And while the book deals a lot with the topic of cheating, she really seems to blame everyone except for the cheater for the act of cheating. Noah, her boyfriend, it just a pain. Her roommate, Vi, is equally annoying. Basically everyone was just kind of…blah.

I didn’t find Mlynowski’s writing particularly interesting. It was very basic, which can be forgivable with a good plot, but the plot was so lacking the book was just blah.

I’m sorry this review is so short, I just don’t really have much to say about this book because it was just so lacking in everything. I will give it 2 stars because it was an easy, and at times fun, read. It wasn’t really memorable and I can’t even think or a quotable moment in the whole book. I don’t think I would recommend this book. If you already own go ahead and read it but I wouldn’t rush out and buy it because I just don’t think it’s worth it.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have)Let me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Sarah Mlynowski at her website, Goodreads, and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

