Stacking the Shelves (1)

logo

I decided that I would get started on some features right away with this blog. I found many on all sorts of book blogs, but there was one that really stood out for me. I am a huge hoarder of books and a big purchaser of books too, so I thought I would try out Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.

The idea of for Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This week I picked up 7 books, check them out below!

PURCHASED

This week I went out with my parents and we did a little walking and shopping in the lovely town of Stratford. Going to Stratford for me is really just a walking tour of bookstores. I picked up four books, three of which were discounted paperbacks from the sidewalk sales.

clareFirst of all I picked up a copy of City of Bones (Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare at Fundamentals Books and Toys. To be completely honest I am not sure if I want to read this, and I was always a little unsure about the series, but I recently watched the movie and thought the idea was kind of cool. I’m still a little iffy about it, but I’ll definitely read it and review it at some point.

rennisonNext I went to Fanfare Books and picked up some sidewalk sale deals. I grabbed A Midsummer Tights Dream and Taming of the Tights by Louise Rennison. I was a huge fan of the Georgia Nicolson books as a tween so readed the Tallulah Casey books is a little bit of a nostalgic treat for me. I am a sucker for a northern accent as well so reading the ridiculous northern accent in this book series if fun. I have to admit, I’ve already finished reading these, I read them both in one day right after I bought them. If you want a review of them leave me a comment.

mlynowskiFinally, from Fanfare Books again, I got Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski. To be completely honest this was a snap decision, it was incredibly cheap and I was confident that it was on my “To Read” shelf on Goodreads. It turns out it wasn’t but I am still going to read it because it looks interesting. There will eventually be a review of this on the blog.

Later in the week I went to Chapters to pick up a gift and bought myself a little gift too. I don’t shop at Chapters too often anymore because I’m always trying to be frugal about books but I couldn’t pass up these books.

mccahan brown

I grabbed a copy of Love and Other Foreign Words by Eric McCahan. I’ve been looking at this book for a while now, and kind of talking myself in and out of buying it because I didn’t know if I wanted to pay for the hardcover just based on the price. I finally caved and I’m super excited to read it. I also got Andre the Giant by Box Brown. I love, love, love FirstSecond Books and everything they make. I’ve been trying to track this graphic novel down for ages and finally found a copy at Chapters. I am really excited about reading this and you can expect a review of this within the next week!

hockingFinally, the gift I bought was Wake (Watersong #1) by Amanda Hocking. My mom has been trying to find this so she could read this series and I came across it at Chapters so I picked it up for her and gave it to her, hopefully she likes it!

So that’s what I stacked my shelves with this week!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

6 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (1)

  1. Welcome to the weakly fun of StS! And the icon you made for this feature is perfect. I love it!

    Great haul for the week. I really need to read 10 Things We Did, because it has been sitting on my kindle for a while now. Just haven’t picked it up yet. I’ll try and catch your review of it. And I wasn’t a huge fan of the MI series. It just wasn’t for me. But I know others that love. Hope you do as well.

    Happy reading!
    My StS

    Like

    1. Thank you!

      I probably won’t get around to reading 10 Thing We Did for a while yet, I have too many other books I’m too excited about that I need to read first! I have a feeling I won’t be a huge fan of the MI series either, but I thought I’d give it a try.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Cassandra Clare definitely has a way of growing on you. I will say, that especially with the first few books each one gets better and better. I do love The Mortal Instruments books, but I adore even more The Infernal Devices books. And I do have a feeling that once you start with the series, you won’t be able to stop.

    Like

    1. Well, I am definitely interested in finding out about this series and starting it soon. I’ll probably read it within the next few weeks, it is pretty high up in my stack. I do tend to get hooked once I start a series just because I need to know how it ends.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. I, too, loved the Georgia Nicolson series. They’re a favorite of mine even now that I’m older. I liked them more than I like (so far) the Tallulah Casey ones, but Louise Rennison is just a spectacularly funny writer and so they definitely don’t disappoint.

    Like

Leave me a comment!